The Easiest Way to Overcome Failure to Meet the Deadline of Interior Design.

Maciej Słowiński
1 min readOct 28, 2022

--

Everyone is struggling with not being able to meet the deadline for interior design.

I have for years.

As soon as I started my own business as an interior designer, the problem of missing deadlines became my problem as well.

The problem is so commonplace in this industry that no one seems to care anymore. A lot of extra time is intentionally scheduled for delays just to avoid being very late.

I have done that too, and each time I was surprised that I could not finish the project on time.

But what changed for me was the realization that I was protecting myself in the wrong way. And when I realized that, I began to understand that it’s not hard to overcome a missed deadline — I had simply done the wrong thing.

Here is what I should have done instead:

Add only a time buffer at the very end.

We tend to schedule more time than necessary for each task when we plan our work.

The interior design consists of many tasks, each with a time buffer. However, these buffers are not used efficiently. If you finish the task prematurely, the time buffer is wasted.

The wasted time has a direct impact on meeting the deadline.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Maciej Słowiński

15+ yr Interior Designer • SketchUp passionate • I am working to significantly reduce the lead time of an interior design • Insights about the process