3 Simple (But Effective) Pieces of Advice I Would Give to Any Interior Designer Who Wants to Better Manage Their Design Time.

Maciej Słowiński
2 min readNov 1, 2022

--

I have been working as an interior designer for 15 years.

These are the 3 simple (but effective) pieces of advice I would give to anyone starting out (or wanting to start out):

Advice #1: Pareto Principle

80% of the results are achieved with 20% of the effort. That’s the Pareto Principle.

Rank the tasks on your to-do list from low to high by their impact and then by their effort. Then start performing high-impact, low-effort tasks.

This is the best way to use your time.

Advice #2: Take a break

Do not stay trapped in the prison of indecision.

Pay attention to the moment when you get stuck on a design decision. You may waste a lot of time thinking about options that are either not critical or will be easier to resolve later.

Most of the time, pausing is the best way to break free from the impasse.

Advice #3: Parkinson’s Law

Work expands to fill the time available for its completion.

Be honest when estimating the time needed to complete a task. We tend to protect ourselves with excessive time buffers. In reality, we are just wasting time.

Instead, give the exact time for the following tasks and add a safety buffer between the end of the project and the deadline

Honestly, I wish someone had told me these 3 things earlier in my career.

But at least I am glad I can pass them on to you.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Maciej Słowiński

15+ yr Interior Designer • SketchUp passionate • I am working to significantly reduce the lead time of an interior design • Insights about the process